Board of Governors

Board of Governors


Dr. Sam Pitroda, Chairman – Board of Governors.

Dr. Sam Pitroda is an internationally respected telecom inventor, entrepreneur, development thinker, and policy maker who has spent 49 years in information and communications technology (ICT) and related global and national developments.

Credited with having laid the foundation for India’s telecommunications and technology revolution of the 1980s, Dr. Pitroda has been a leading campaigner to help bridge the global digital divide. During his tenure as Advisor to Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi, Dr. Pitroda led six technology missions related to telecommunications, water, literacy, immunization, dairy production, and oil seeds. He was also the founder and first Chairman of India’s Telecom Commission. In these plural roles, Dr. Pitroda helped revolutionize India’s development philosophies and policies with a focus on access to technology as the key to social change.

In addition, Dr. Pitroda holds over 15 honorary PhD’s, close to 100 worldwide patents, and has published and lectured widely in the United States, Europe, Latin America and Asia.

Professor Ramaswamy, Co-Chairman – Board of Governors.

Professor Ramaswamy is Dean at the Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine (inStem), National Centre for Biological Sciences (NCBS), Bangalore.


Professor Pankaj Chandra, Member.

Professor Pankaj Chandra is a former Director of Indian Institute of Managamement, Bangalore (IIMB).

Mr. S V Ranganath, Special Invitee.

Mr. S V Ranganath is former Chief Secretary, Government of Karnataka.


Professor Govindarajan Padmanabhan.

Professor G Padmanabhan is former Director, Indian Institute of Science (IISc.), Bangalore.

Mr. Sudhakar Rao, Member.

Mr. Sudhakar Rao is former Chief Secretary, Government of Karnataka.


Professor Anurag Behar, Member.

Professor Behar is the Vice Chancellor of Azim Premji University (APU), Bangalore.

Mr. Sivasailam, Ex-Officio Member.

Mr. Sivasailam is the current Principal Secretary, Health and Welfare Department, Government of Karnataka.


Professor G B Nair, Member.


Dr. Rakesh Yadav, Special Invitee, UGC Representative.

Dr. Rakesh Yadav is Special Invitee to the Board of Governors, ITDHST University as representative from University Grants Commission (UGC).


Professor Bhushan Patwardhan, Member.

Professor Bhushan Patwardhan is the Director, School of Health Sciences, University of Pune, Maharashtra.

Padmashree Darshan Shankar, Member.

Padmashree Darshan Shankar is the managing trustee of Foundation for Revitalization of Local Health Traditions (FRLHT), Bangalore, and Former Advisor to Member (Health) of the Planning Commission.

He is currently the Vice Chancellor of the TransDisciplinary University (TDU), Bangalore.